Skip to main content

Calendar

Fall 2017 Events

Welcome to the Semester Social:  Thurs, Aug 24, 5:00 – 7:00 p.m, Lair Bowling Alley.  Sign-up begins immediately.  Bowling party with refreshments provided.  Don’t forget to wear/bring socks if you want to bowl!

Chemistry Survival Skills:  Thurs, Sept 7, 5:30 – 7:00 pm, Mountain Room, 2nd Floor of Mountainlair.  Sign-ups begin Wed, Aug 30.  Do you find it difficult to study Chemistry?  Do you need help using your scientific calculator?  Get insider tips and advice from our resident SSS Chemistry Guru! 

Basketball Games:  Wed, Sept 6, 7:00 – 8:30 pm, Student Rec Center.  Sign-ups begin Wed, Aug 30.  Do you like playing basketball?  Join other SSS participants for a few friendly games at the Student Rec Center.

Study Abroad- Experiences of a Gilman Scholar:  Tues, Sept 12, 5:30 – 6:30 pm, Blackwater Room, 2nd Floor of Mountainlair.  Sign-ups begin Tues, Sept 5.  Come listen to the study abroad experiences of a SSS Participant who won the Gilman Scholarship to fund his trip.

TRIO Student Ambassadors Organization Info Session:  Tues, Sept 19, 11:30 am- 12:20 pm, 208 Clark Hall.  Sign-ups begin Tues, Sept 12.  Learn more about the TRIO Student Ambassadors Organization, including ways to get involved, leadership opportunities and National TRIO Day activities

Theater Production “Topdog/Underdog”:   Thurs, Sept 21, 7:30 – 9:30 pm, Gladys G. Davis Theatre, Creative Arts Center.  Sign-ups begin Thurs, Sept 14.  Performance by the WVU School of Theater & Dance.  Spaces are limited. 

“Things I wish I had known my first year at WVU” – SSS Upperclassmen Panel:  Thursday, Sept 28, 5:00– 6:30 pm, Stalnaker Hall.  Sign-ups begin Thursday, Sept 21.  Join us to hear some wisdom from SSS Upperclassmen who have navigated their college experiences successfully, but not without challenges.

Making “Cents” of Scholarship Searches:  Wed, Oct 4, 4:30 – 6 pm, Laurel Room, 2nd Floor of Mountainlair.  Sign-ups begin Wed, Sept 27.  Learn about different scholarship opportunities, how to find funding sources and explore tips on how to develop a winning scholarship application and essay.  Appropriate for all student levels and ranks.

Cultural Dinner:  Mon, Oct 9, 5:30 – 7:30 pm, Ta Khrai Thai Café, 2862 University Ave.  Sign-ups begin Mon, Oct 2.  Come experience a variety of Thai foods and learn about the culture.

Women of Color Luncheon- Invitation Only:  Wed, Oct 11, 11:30 am – 1:00 pm, Mountainlair Ballrooms.  Sign-ups begin Wed, Oct 4.  This event, hosted by the WVU Council for Women’s Concerns, serves to celebrate, honor, and empower all women.  Seats are limited.

Moving On and Moving Out: Tips for the Off-Campus Housing Process:  Thurs, Oct 19, 4:00 – 5:00 pm, G-06 White Hall.  Sign-ups begin Thurs, Oct 12.  Gather info on searching for your next home-away-from-home

Arboretum Walk:  Sun, Oct 22, Time TBA, Core Arboretum, next to WVU Coliseum.  Sign-up dates will be announced later. 

A Bold Finish: Preparing for the End of the Semester:  Weds, Nov 8, 10:30 – 11:20 am, 317 Clark Hall.  Sign-ups begin Weds, Nov 1.  With only a few weeks remaining in the semester, come and learn how to prepare for a successful finish to the semester.  We will discuss preparing for finals, determining/viewing grades and managing stress.

Craft Night:  Mon, Nov 13, 6:30 – 7:30 pm, Kanawha Room, 2nd Floor of Mountainlair.  Sign-ups begin Mon, Nov 6.  Join us for a fun craft activity.  Craft project TBA.  All materials will be provided. 

SSS Thanksgiving Luncheon:  Thurs, Nov 16, 11:30 am – 1:30 pm, SSS Office, G-30 Mountainlair.  The SSS staff will be providing a homemade feast before you head out for break.  Stop in and join us for a tasty lunch and dessert treats!

Graduation & Recognition Reception:  Thurs, Nov 30, 5:00 – 7:00 pm, Mountaineer Room, 2nd Floor of Mountainlair.  Sign-ups begin Thurs, Nov 16.  Dessert reception to recognize December grads. Program begins at 6 p.m.